Alli Mia Fora- Fourth Chapter

“Because i know how not to depend on anyone anymore.” Maine’s cold voice made everyone in the table  enveloped in silence while she stares at me with bitterness and coldness. Ah dang it Richard!

After that long silence, Ken walked up towards to our table and told us that the dance floor is already open. Faye, Donna, and Jan stood up and went in the dance floor to mingle with the others while Katie went to the bathroom. Which lefts Maine and I in the table. Still having this cold barrier between us.

I stood up and went beside her. A smile crept up to my face when i saw her staring at me. With confusion this time.

“What do you want?”

“U-Uhm, do you want to dance?”

She bitterly laughed. “I don’t dance. Alam mo naman yun diba?” I smiled at her. Because i know that she’s lying. I saw her dance. And i can say that she’s one of the best dancers i have ever seen.

A familiar song comes up in the stereo and i pulled her towards to the dance floor.

“RICHARD! Ano ba!”

“Don’t lie to me, Nicomaine. I know you dance.” I smugly say.

“Well, Mr. Richard Faulkerson, I don’t dance and never, say my full name ever again.” She rolled her eyes and walked a few steps away from me but i quickly grabbed her hand and pulled her close to me.

At that same position a really memorable song from our eight grade played. A song which i didn’t got to dance with her. As the first notes of the song plays, everyone looked for a partner and gave me and Maine some space to dance in.

I placed my hands in her hips while she sways thru the song. Her eyes are closed, feeling every note of the song.

“So don’t call me baby
Unless you mean it
And don’t tell me you need me
If you don’t believe it
So let me know the truth
Before I dive right into you”

“Akala ko di ka marunong sumayaw?” I joked as she opens her eyes with a pout.

“Eh hindi naman ako sumasayaw. I’m only swaying my hips, stupid.” She laughed half-heartedly. I smiled like there’s no tomorrow when i saw her laugh. Her laugh was like a disease that no one can ever escape.

“Maine,”

“Hmmm?”

“I-I missed you.”

“I missed you to, Rj.” Those words are enough to cup her cheeks with my hands and pull her face closer to my face. As i close my eyes and attempt to kiss her, I felt tears rushing down her face.

“W-What’s wrong, Maine?”

She escaped from my arms and wiped her tears from her face.

“I’m sorry Richard, i can’t do it again.”

And she left me in the middle of the dance floor, dumbfounded

Leave a Reply

